When Should I Cite a Source?Bibliography Style vs. Reference List Style CitationsHow to Cite a Source for the Second TimeWorks Cited Page
Book CitationsJournal, Magazine, or Newspaper Article CitationsWebsites, Podcasts, & Misc. Citations
This is the "Overview" page of the "Chicago/Turabian Style Citation Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chicago/Turabian Style Citation Guide  

Last Updated: Jul 5, 2012 URL: http://libguides.newhaven.edu/ChicagoTurabianStyleGuide Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

Use the tabs at the top of the page to navigate to the resources.

The Chicago Style Guide contains two basic citation systems: the Notes-Bibliography style (or Bibliography Style) and the Parenthetical Citations-Reference List Style (or Reference List style).   

Bibliography style is typically used within the fields of the humanities, which includes but is not limited to:

  • History
  • Literature
  • Arts

Bibliography style presents bibliographic information in notes, and typically, in a Works Cited page.  If a full Works Cited page is provided at the end of the paper, then the note can be concise.  For more information, visit Works Cited.

Reference List Style is used in:

  •  Social Sciences
  • Physical Sciences

In Reference List Style citations, sources are cited in text using parentheses.  The citation is typically brief, and contains the author's last name, date of publication, and page number.  Complete bibliographic information is provided in the Works Cited page. 

If you have any doubt about which citation style to use, ask your professor.

Under the Chicago/Turabian Style tab, examples of proper citations for each particular type of source are provided.

It is important to remember, once you have begun to cite using a specific style, that you must stay consistent with that style.   

The Print and Online Materials tab provides the titles of books and websites with the complete Chicago Style Guide.

For citation assistance, visit the Library Information Desk, or the Center for Learning Resources (CLR) Writing Lab, which assists students with essay writing.  The CLR is located on the bottom floor of the library. 

Joe Scollo

Profile Image
Joe Scollo - Information Literacy Librarian
Contact Info
(203) 479-4186
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip